Skip to content

Strawberry pizza

June 13, 2009

If you make anything with strawberries this summer, you’ve got to try this recipe for strawberry pizza.  It is soooo delicious!  Jim and I practically ate the whole thing by ourselves.  Look at these pictures and you’ll see why.  Prepare to drool.

See what I mean?  It’s just the perfect summer dessert.  Plus, it’s easy to make and the presentation is wonderful.

Recipe:  Strawberry Pizza

8 ounce package of cream cheese, divided  (I used light cream cheese)

2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, chilled

1 c. baking mix, such as Bisquick

2 Tbsp. honey

1/4 c. granulated sugar

1/4 tsp. lemon zest  (I substituted with 1/2 tsp. pure lemon extract)

1 1/2 quarts of strawberries, cleaned and hulled, sliced in half and lightly patted to dry

white or dark chocolate, for garnish

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Lightly spray a 12″ pizza pan with cooking spray.

Cut 3 oz. cream cheese and 2 Tbsp. butter into baking mix.  Mixture will resemble coarse crumbs.  Form dough into a ball, then pat out onto the pizza pan.  The crust will be very thin.  (Take your time with this step.  At first it doesn’t seem like you will have enough dough, but as you work it toward the edges it will cover the whole pan.) Bake for 6-8 minutes or until crust is lightly brown.  Cool completely.

Cream together 5 oz. of cream cheese, honey, sugar, and lemon zest or extract until smooth.

Assemble pizza just before serving, if possible.  The crust becomes softer if made too far in advance.  Spread the cream cheese mixture onto the cooled crust.  Arrange the sliced strawberries in a circular pattern over the crust, starting with one berry in the center.

Melt chocolate in the microwave at 30 second intervals, at reduced power, until melted.  Drizzle over strawberries.   Cut into 10-12 slices and serve.  (Unless you invite Jim and me over!)

28 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2009 3:38 am

    What a great idea! Looks so good!

  2. June 14, 2009 4:03 am

    So beautiful! I would hate to cut into it!

  3. June 14, 2009 4:09 am

    Mmmmm, those pictures were mouthwatering. Thanks for sharing…..I’m printing this out for the next time I’m invited over to a BBQ or the twins come home (next Friday) to help eat it! :)
    ~ingrid

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:19 am

    CookiePie – Thank you, and it IS good. : )

    Sarah – I’ll tell you, I used a pizza cutter and did not have such an easy time cutting it. Maybe a knife would work better cutting through all those berries neatly.

    Ingrid – Hope you try it and come back and tell me.

  5. June 14, 2009 11:44 am

    What a great pizza!!! Ill have to try this for some family events this summer!!!

  6. June 14, 2009 12:20 pm

    What a delicious looking pizza! So so pretty and it does sound so easy to make. I have not tried this but someone told me to spread a very thin layer of melted chocolate (white, milk , or dark) on the crust, let is set then put the toppings on- this will prevent the crust from getting soggy. We’ll have to try it and see but I wonder if it would make it too sweet? Hmmm…

  7. June 14, 2009 3:54 pm

    The white chocolate drizzle looks so great! This looks very delicious.

  8. June 14, 2009 4:43 pm

    This looks amazing! There’s a local pizzeria that offers several dessert pizzas, including one like this, and it is sooo good. I want one now…

  9. bobbygee permalink
    June 14, 2009 7:06 pm

    This looks really good to eat. My wife would love this. Bobby Gee Me Too.

  10. June 14, 2009 10:29 pm

    The strawberries in my garden are just ripening, and this would be a great way to use them!

  11. June 15, 2009 12:09 pm

    that is ABSOLUTELY picture-perfect, and i applaud your liberal use of white chocolate. what a great treat, perhaps the best pizza ever. :)

  12. June 17, 2009 8:35 pm

    Oh my – what a wonderful dessert! I am diabetic, but I am pretty sure this is insulin worthy!!

  13. June 18, 2009 2:48 pm

    Wow…this looks amazing! I am a huge strawberry fan. How pretty to bring to a summer cookout! what a beautiful presentation!

  14. June 18, 2009 3:22 pm

    Yes, major drool. Looks wonderful, and so summery!

  15. June 22, 2009 11:51 pm

    Oh my. My heart just skipped a beat.

  16. June 24, 2009 12:04 am

    Wow! This is gorgeous.

  17. TasteStopping permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    I just saw this photo on MegaNom.tumblr. It looks amazing. A great way to use this season’s strawberries.

    I am getting in touch with you to let you know about a “blog” of sorts that I’ve started, called TasteStopping.com. It’s a place where those of us who have had our photographs declined from TasteSpotting, FoodGawker or Photo Grazing can submit and have that same work published to help drive traffic to our sites. I hope you will check it out and give me your feedback. Even better, send me your photos!

    I look forward to hearing (and seeing) from you soon!

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  18. Naomi permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:13 pm

    I just made this, and it turned out absolutely AMAZING. Great recipe :)

  19. June 24, 2009 10:29 pm

    Yummmm… We’re getting a lot of strawberries out of the garden right now, and this is a good way to use them!

  20. July 15, 2009 5:11 am

    Not sure if this an omen or coincidence, but my wife just purchased strawberries from the market….so guess what we’re going to make?

  21. October 20, 2009 4:01 am

    Hello, this is a great recipe. The California Strawberry Commission is creating an iPhone application of 50+ strawberry recipes from bloggers. This will be free to users and at no cost to you. Please send me an email if you’re interested. I think folks would like this recipe.

    Jodi Reinman
    California Strawberry Commission

  22. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 20, 2009 4:15 am

    Sure, I’d be interested. I loved that recipe too. Will credit for photos be given to me and a link to get to my blog? I’d like that info. before I decide. Thanks.
    ~Michelle

  23. Bug permalink
    February 16, 2010 6:47 pm

    You should give step-by-step instructions with pictures! Looks yummy

  24. March 22, 2010 12:37 am

    este interesant, chear foarte frumos…

  25. April 4, 2010 2:36 am

    I have seen strawberry pizza before but this looks and sounds better then anything I have seen! Can’t wait to try!

  26. lara permalink
    September 5, 2012 11:52 am

    mmm…. delicious!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. Strawberry-cheese pizza - webvakker

Leave a comment