Skip to content

Cannoli ice cream

August 15, 2009

Cannoli Ice Cream

I have three words for you.  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  Actually, I could just moan a little or make yummy noises like Claudia does when she’s eating a popsicle.  Whatever it takes to get the point across here.  Or is this picture enough?

Seriously, if you are a fan of that decadent Italian treat called cannoli, then stop everything and go make yourself some of this ice cream right now.  I swear, it took every ounce of will power I possess not to eat the whole quart myself.  It is amazing.  Creamy.  Rich.  Studded with pistachios and chocolate.  {sigh}  Are you still here?  You haven’t rushed to your fridge yet to see if you have some ricotta cheese?  Well, go already.  I’ll wait.

I bookmarked this recipe back in February at Ice Cream Before Dinner.  The only changes I made were the additions of chopped pistachios and mini chocolate chips.  (I’ve added those to the recipe in this post.)  I would like to give it a try with the part-skim ricotta cheese to see if it would give me the same flavors, but the original recipe says specifically not to try that.  I’m new to the ice cream world, so can anyone tell me why not?

Recipe:  Cannoli Ice Cream

(adapted slightly from Ice Cream Before Dinner‘s recipe)

1 3/4 c. whole milk ricotta cheese

2/3 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp., overfilled, of vanilla extract

2/3 c. heavy cream

1/2 tsp. Grand Marnier  (I substituted frozen orange juice concentrate.)

zest of one small lemon

pinch of sea salt  (I used kosher salt.)

1/4 c. chopped pistachios, optional

1/4 c. mini chocolate chips, optional

In a food processor, combine the ricotta, lemon zest, sugar, salt, and vanilla until well blended.  With cover on and blade spinning, slowly pour in the heavy cream.  Add the Grand Marnier.  Place the mixture in a bowl, and place that bowl in a larger bowl filled with ice water.  Set in the refrigerator until thoroughly chilled.

Churn in your ice cream machine according to manufacturer’s directions.  Place in a container in freezer until firm.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 6:22 am

    Heaven in a cone!

  2. August 15, 2009 8:27 am

    No ricotta cheese! :( I’m gonna have to ask Joe to stop on his way home from work to pick some up for me. It doesn’t matter that he’ll have just worked 12 hours without a break I need cannoli ice cream! I can’t even imagine how decadent and scrumptious that is. Cannoli’s were the only dessert I liked outside of vanilla ice cream when I was younger. I liked ’em so much I memorized the recipe for the filling and ate it by the bowlful.
    ~ingrid

  3. grandy permalink
    August 15, 2009 11:36 am

    Hi Mitch, Your cannoli ice cream and your peach pie look beautiful . I loved what you wrote about camp. Aunt Linda said it sounded like the Waltons but I know it was even better. Love you, Mom

  4. August 15, 2009 3:06 pm

    I can only imagine how delicious this ice cream is! Actually, I can’t because I’ve never had ricotta in my ice cream. Looks like I need to pick some up, because this is a must make recipe!

  5. August 16, 2009 6:23 am

    the more fat in the product, the softer the ice cream stays. The less fat, the harded the ice cream will be when it is placed in the freezer. I discovered that the hard way… but i you want a creamier, easier to scoop ice cream, uoi have to use the full fat stuff!!!
    btw, yum!!! i’m so going to make this!!!

  6. August 16, 2009 7:13 am

    Oh my God. I had to get rid of my ice cream machine in a move, and never have I so sorely regretted that as I do right now.

  7. August 16, 2009 7:29 am

    Wow, this looks amazing. Definitely going to have to churn some of this up soon! If it weren’t storming out right now, I’d be walking to the grocery to pick up some ricotta!

  8. August 16, 2009 7:37 am

    leave the gun. take the cannoli ice cream. :)

  9. August 16, 2009 9:33 am

    I think your pistachio and chocolate additions really make this. Life really can’t get better than this. It looks astounding. I forgot myself for a moment.

    And my guess is that if you use low-fat ricotta your ice cream will get icy. The fat content will be too low.

  10. August 16, 2009 9:48 am

    Oh my gracious! Cannoli is one of my families favorite desserts…this ice cream may be the tipping point of me finally getting an ice cream maker….this looks so, so, so good! :)

  11. August 16, 2009 11:27 am

    Oh WOW!! I want to go out and buy an ice cream maker Right NOW! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

  12. August 16, 2009 12:37 pm

    I made cannoli cookies a few months ago and now cannoli ice cream? I’m bookmarking this now! FANTASTIC!

  13. August 17, 2009 8:42 am

    This looks amazing! Cannoli are my favorite Italian dessert. Can’t wait to try the frozen version!

  14. August 17, 2009 1:54 pm

    MMMM, your cones look good! Those are some seriously smart and delicious-sounding add-ins!!!! I’m glad you liked this recipe. It was certainly a favorite in my house. It really tastes like cannoli doesn’t it????

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 19, 2009 12:08 am

    All your comments are awesome. And all true ~ this is heaven on a cone and some seriously amazing ice cream. I hope you all have ricotta in your refrigerators so you can make some too!
    ~Michelle

  16. August 21, 2009 1:32 pm

    I saw your post a few days ago and made this icecream yesterday. Am eating it now. It’s delicious- yum yum yum!!!

  17. September 8, 2009 4:10 pm

    OH. MY. GOSH. How did I miss this back in August?? This is the best ice cream flavor ever!! Must make.

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 8, 2009 11:33 pm

    Lori – Thanks. : ) I have to tell ya, it is really addicting. And really, really good!
    ~Michelle

  19. September 28, 2009 6:25 pm

    I looked at both versions of this ice cream and yours looks far more appetizing to me. I love the addition of pistachios and chocolate. Those are a must.

    bookmarked.

  20. Caroline permalink
    December 8, 2011 10:12 pm

    Just made a batch of this Ice Cream, and it is amazing! The ricotta mixture tasted good, but when I added the alcohol right before freezing, (I used Cointreau in place of the Grand Marnier since it was cheaper) it took it to a crazy delicious level. I added some mini chocolate chips and broken up cannnoli shells. I will be making about 4 more quarts before Christmas to bring to dinner parties, and at least one bath with some pistachios! Thank you so much for this recipe!

  21. December 30, 2011 4:29 pm

    This is so good. I used some chopped up Andes candies as I didn’t have any chocolate chips. It came out great! Also, you don’t necessarily need a fancy-dancy ice cream machine to make it either.

  22. jenn permalink
    April 8, 2012 8:18 am

    I made this yesterday and it is amazing! my Italian husband loved it! I didn’t put the chocolate chips and it was still yummy. We ate it with some pound cake, talk about decadent! Thank you so much for this recipe. I love you blog as well. Found some yummy things to make on here.

  23. July 27, 2013 4:23 am

    I’d like to find out more? I’d care to find
    out more details.

Trackbacks

  1. thoughts on giving by ONE ORDINARY DAY | giverslog.com
  2. Cannoli Ice Cream « Tasty Snack Treats
  3. Re-inventing the Wheel | Bitchin' in the Kitchen

Leave a comment