Skip to content

Spritz cookies

December 7, 2009

Classic Spritz Cookies

There are two cookies I remember having at Christmastime growing up, and this is one of them.  My mom used to make a ton of them, and I remember lots of them being decorated with those little red cinnamon candies.  You won’t see those little candies here… never was a big fan.

I think what’s great about spritz cookies is that you can so easily get the kids involved.  My cookie press is simple to use and the kids can press the cookies and decorate them.  Sam, Claudia, and I spent last night baking these.  I gotta say that my girl is a wee bit heavy-handed on the sugar, so we’ll save hers for family.  The rest will be shared with friends and teachers.  We saved some for lunchboxes too!

Recipe:  Classic Spritz Cookies

1 1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

1 egg

2 Tbsp. milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. almond extract

3 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Thoroughly cream butter and sugar.  Add egg, milk, vanilla, and almond extract; beat well.  Stir together flour and baking powder; gradually add to creamed mixture.  Mix to make a smooth dough.  Do not chill.  Place dough in your cookie press and press cookies onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with colored sugar, if desired.  Bake 8-10 minutes, or until very lightly browned around edges.  Remove to wire rack to cool.

(I use this Wilton Cookie Pro cookie press.  Easy to use and easy to clean!)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 7:44 am

    i’ve often wondered if a cookie press was a worthwhile investment. after seeing your adorable and festive cookies, i’m thinking it is.

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 7, 2009 8:10 am

    Grace ~ I definitely think it’s a worthy way to spend $20. I have about 4 recipes that I make with the cookie press. One is the classic spritz here, also chocolate, lemon, and even cheese crackers! Plus, frankly, it’s just kinda fun. : )
    ~ Michelle

  3. December 7, 2009 12:56 pm

    I have a cookie press – but haven’t used it yet, I must make these!

  4. December 7, 2009 3:46 pm

    I’m going to have to try these again this year because the ones I made last year were laughable.

    so pretty and festive. I was never a fan of the cinnamon candies either.

  5. December 8, 2009 3:30 am

    I dont have a cookie press but now I think I will have to go out and get one cause there cookies look delicious! I always see it in the store and debate buying it…thanks for helping persuade me to get it! Cant wait to try out these cookies!

  6. December 8, 2009 6:18 am

    Hey, my girl Claudia knows what she’s doing! Pass me one with sprinkles on it! :)
    ~ingrid

  7. Dani permalink
    December 8, 2009 11:18 am

    These are a favorite in my house as well. We have the same cookie press as Shell (probably a Christmas present from her). It is so easy to use.

  8. December 10, 2009 9:52 am

    Cookie press cookies are the best. I haven’t pulled out my press in years- don’t know why either? Well you have done it, I must make press cookies this year for sure. Thanks for the reminder!

  9. December 10, 2009 2:02 pm

    My mom and I make these every Christmas, except that her cookie press is her grandmother’s from the 1960’s! Still works like a charm. And we bury them in sugar. :] Yours look gorgeous, they make me think of home.

  10. grandy permalink
    December 12, 2009 6:17 am

    They’re the cookies that take me back! Now i feel a little sad!!!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 12, 2009 6:38 am

    Gee, Mom, you shouldn’t be sad. We baked them to take home for Christmas so you’ll still get to eat them. And you can be happy you didn’t have to clean up all the sugar when the kids were done decorating! LOL Love you!! See you SOON!

Leave a comment