Skip to content

Melted snowman ornament

December 13, 2009

Melted Snowman Ornament

If you like to add new kid-crafted ornaments to your Christmas tree, you’re gonna love this one.  I made these with Claudia’s class and they was a big hit with the kids and their parents.  The one in my photo is Claudia’s and is hanging on our tree right now.  Super easy.  Super cute.  And guess what he’s made out of?  Glue!  And since he is a melted snowman, it really doesn’t matter how his various parts are arranged.  There’s no right or wrong way to do this, which is why it’s a perfect kid craft.

Here’s what you do…

Materials:  waxed paper, Elmer’s glue, small hat from craft store (or from your old Barbie collection – I noticed a few skiing hats in Claudia’s stash that would work great here), small black pom-poms or buttons, carrot nose cut from stiff felt, piece of ribbon for scarf, and a piece of thin ribbon, string, or an ornament hook for hanging

Tear off a sheet of waxed paper.  Lay your ornament hook or thin ribbon on the waxed paper.  Now pass that glue bottle to your kiddo.  This is your child’s chance to squeeze the heck out of that glue and make a puddle of glue in whatever size he (or she!) wants.   (Just make sure it covers a bit of your hanger.)  Now add the hat, nose, eyes, buttons, and scarf.  Let the glue dry thoroughly.  Once it’s dry, you can peel it off the waxed paper and hang on your tree.  The glue may or may not buckle a little in various places as it dries.  No biggie.  You still get one extra-cute melted snowman for your tree.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 6:43 am

    That is so clever. I used to love playing with glue as a kid. I loved letting it dry on my hand then peeling off my “skin” ha ha!

    I love this idea.

  2. December 13, 2009 10:56 am

    Thank you so much for all your kind words! I’m so glad you stopped by.

    What an adorable ornament! It sounds like we have a lot in common: baking, crafts, greening our homes, etc. I’ve been toying with the idea of a craft blog, too. My sister and I run a scrapbook store on etsy, carolinacraftshoppe.etsy.com.

    I’m excited to look around here! Nice to meet you!

  3. December 14, 2009 12:54 am

    This is just so adorable! What a great craft project to do with the lil kids :)

Trackbacks

  1. Melted Snowman Ornament · Lesson Plans @ CraftGossip

Leave a comment