Skip to content

Reindeer cookies

December 15, 2009

Reindeer Cookies

This is the treat Claudia wanted to take to school to share this week.  Sam opted for these chocolate cookies chock full of red and green m&ms.  And let me just say that I was pretty thankful I didn’t have to fuss over any more reindeer.  50 was plenty.  Not that my littlest baker wasn’t right in there helping with every step, and Sam did his fair share of helping too.  These just turned out to be pretty time-consuming.  Plus, to be honest, I think very few of them look like they’re sporting reindeer antlers.  Most of them look like some kind of red-nosed bug with pretzel antennae.

I used my recipe for peanut butter blossoms, then ditched the chocolate kisses in favor of broken pretzel antlers, red m&m noses, and mini chocolate chip eyes.  If you decide to bake these, make sure you insert the pretzel sticks as soon as they come out of the oven.  If the cookies begin to set up, the pretzels end up breaking the cookie apart, so work quickly.  Kids can definitely get in on the action here – mixing, rolling, adding the decorations.  There was a lot for them to do and they did a great job.  I’m sure their friends are gonna love ’em.

Recipe:  Reindeer Cookies

1/2 c. shortening

3/4 c. creamy peanut butter

1/3 c. granulated sugar

1/3 c. packed light brown sugar

1 egg

2 Tbsp. milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

broken pretzel twists for antlers

mini chocolate chips for eyes

red m&ms for noses

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Beat shortening and peanut butter until well blended.  Add sugars and beat until fluffy.  Add egg, milk, and vanilla; beat well.  Stir together flour, baking soda, and salt; gradually mix into peanut butter mixture.  Shape dough into 1″ balls.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until lightly browned.  Immediately insert broken pretzel antlers, then m&m noses, then mini chocolate chip eyes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.  Makes 4 dozen.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 4:06 am

    TOO cute!!! I love this idea!

  2. December 15, 2009 4:44 am

    They look great! My two boys are keen to try and do some ‘cooking’ prior to Christmas and these may be the perfect fun answer. I particularly like the broken pretzels for antlers – very clever.

  3. December 15, 2009 5:13 am

    O how cute they are!! I can imagine though that after 50 of these little darlings you had enough!

  4. December 15, 2009 5:43 am

    clever idea! i enjoy the smushed face. :)

  5. December 15, 2009 7:58 am

    I think they’re adorable but I can see how they were time consuming. You’re such a good mommy.

  6. Laurel permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:20 am

    Haha, that’s so cute! My sister and I have made cookies similar to these. We’ve also made reindeer droppings cookies. It’s a little sick minded, but we just made chocolate cookies in “droppings” shapes. It got a lot of laughs. My sister and I got into baking because we use to go to this Indianapolis Specialty Desserts place all the time. They had really good desserts there, and my sister loves to bake so she picked up some recipes and we just got creative with them.

  7. December 15, 2009 10:47 am

    These are soooo cute!

  8. December 15, 2009 12:07 pm

    Now this is a very cute idea. I told my family that they may pick one treat for me to make for Christmas and my one son picked chocolate chip cookies, which are good but not all that festive. So I think this idea would jazz them up. Thanks!!

  9. December 15, 2009 3:34 pm

    These are so adorable. I keep saying I’m going to try one of them… I get so inspired when I see your pics… but so far nada…

  10. December 17, 2009 4:51 am

    I have to admit, I would never have the patience to make those but boy! are they cute!! My kids would LOVE them.

  11. December 17, 2009 1:38 pm

    They look so cute! Great job :)

  12. December 19, 2009 7:06 pm

    I would never have thought to decorate them this way, Michelle! Simply inspired.

Leave a comment