Skip to content

Cup cakes

January 20, 2010

No recipe today, but I wanted to show you these cute cup cakes.  Get it?  {tee hee}  Cup cakes.  Oh, I amuse myself.  Anyway, this is just a boxed cake mix and store-bought frosting, but I turned it into something fun to surprise the kids.  Don’t they remind you of a cup of hot chocolate with a big ‘ole dollop of whipped cream?  My kids loved them.  I believe Claudia said they were “fabulous.”  : )

Obviously, you’ll want to check to make sure your cups are oven-safe before doing this.  I sprayed the insides of mine with Baker’s Joy baking spray, then filled them halfway with cake batter.  They took about 20-25 minutes to bake, until they passed the toothpick test.  After cooling, I added the frosting and a sprinkling of powdered sugar.  They were a big hit.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 10:13 am

    These looks adorable AND delicious!

  2. January 20, 2010 10:34 am

    Too cute and fun!!

  3. Evie permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:36 am

    You r soooo funny! (eye rolling inserted)

  4. January 20, 2010 1:33 pm

    How fun! My kids would love those!

  5. January 20, 2010 3:46 pm

    I can totally see the kids enjoying this. LOL, how your babygirl said it was fabulous…very cute. :)
    ~ingrid

  6. January 20, 2010 4:19 pm

    Very cute idea. I would like to try the microwave version of this mug cake sometime soon. I keep forgeting though! My kids would love this type of cup cake- it is the simple ideas that they go so crazy over! Perfect at 4pm when I am getting on their nerves;-)

  7. January 21, 2010 5:16 am

    You are too funny! These are adorable I bet the kids just loved them!

  8. January 21, 2010 7:17 am

    But how do you know if you can use them in the oven? They don’t put that on teacups and I asked recently in the store and they told me that if it is has enamel then you cannot use it in the oven but yours look like they have enamel too… Just curious!

  9. January 21, 2010 12:56 pm

    Those are “fabulous”!

  10. January 22, 2010 7:03 am

    What a great idea! They would make an awesome shower/party favor and let the guests take home and keep the mugs. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. January 24, 2010 4:53 pm

    What an adorable cake! I’m so impressed.

Leave a comment