Skip to content

Lavender ricotta ice cream

May 26, 2010

Lavender Ricotta Ice Cream

While I was at the farmers’ market the other day, I got distracted by all the dried herbs and blossoms, so I ended up coming home with some dried lavender.  Having never used lavender in anything but my flower bed, I’ve been looking all over the internet for something wonderful to do with it.  This ice cream fit the bill very nicely.

I was a bit worried that the taste would be overwhelming, but it’s not.  The ricotta base is infused with the lightest taste of the lavender.  In fact, it’s so subtle that you might not even realize it’s in there.  I can see someone wondering “What is that?” with every bite and not quite figuring it out.  It’s really a lovely end to sunny day.

{one year ago:  chocolate chip cookie dough dip}

Recipe:  Lavender Ricotta Ice Cream

(slightly adapted from Cooking Light)

1 c. granulated sugar

1 c. water

1 tsp. dried lavender blossoms

3 c. part-skim or whole-mild ricotta cheese  (I used part-skim and it was perfectly creamy.)

2 Tbsp. honey

1/4 tsp. kosher salt

Combine sugar and water in a small saucepan; bring to a boil.  Boil about 45 seconds or until sugar dissolves.  Remove from heat and stir in lavender blossoms.  Let stand for 30 minutes.  Strain mixture through a fine mesh sieve to discard blossoms.  Cover and chill at least one hour.

Combine ricotta cheese, honey, and salt in a food processor; pulse until smooth.  With the processor turned on, slowly add lavender syrup.  Pour the mixture into your ice cream machine and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.  Transfer ice cream to a freezer-safe container and freeze to desired consistency.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 5:21 am

    That’s kinda funny that you used lavender. Monica mentioned to me a couple of weeks ago that she was intrigued by it and was going to buy some.

    I love ricotta and ice cream, now you have piqued my lavender interest. :)
    ~ingrid

  2. May 26, 2010 7:42 am

    What a beautiful, beautiful shot!! The lavender looks so lovely on that fresh, smooth ice cream.

  3. May 26, 2010 8:16 am

    Can’t quite tell if you really liked it or not. What did the others think of it?

  4. May 26, 2010 2:26 pm

    Beautiful photo!

  5. May 26, 2010 2:29 pm

    Ooh it’s pretty and you’re a quick one! I didn’t think you’d get it done so quickly. Did you make the scones too?

    I’m still not sure aht I’m going to make with mine but I’m excited about it.

  6. May 26, 2010 3:17 pm

    Yum, this sounds utterly delicious! I’m always to scared to photograph ice cream, I always think it’ll melt before I’m done – evidently not!

  7. May 26, 2010 3:21 pm

    That is a beautiful photograph and I hope you will submit it to FoodGazing.com. FoodGazing is a new site and we are looking for quality food photography and great recipes and would welcome your submissions.

    Regards,

    The FoodGazing team

  8. May 26, 2010 4:46 pm

    What a lovely picture! This recipe looks intriguing enough to give it a try.

  9. May 26, 2010 7:35 pm

    Beautiful photo! And it sure sounds exquisite :)

  10. May 26, 2010 9:56 pm

    this gorgeous pile of cold stuff involves two things with which i’ve never, ever worked but it sounds deliciously creamy and dreamy. note to self: work with lavender and ricotta immediately. :)

  11. May 26, 2010 11:52 pm

    Have never used ricotta or lavender in ice cream but now I want to try it. Your photo makes it very tempting.

  12. May 27, 2010 1:06 am

    Great picture! And the ice cream sounds intriguing; I can’t wait to give it a try.

  13. May 27, 2010 3:36 am

    This sounds so interesting. I have experimented only a tiny bit with lavender, never thought to put it in ice cream. Thanks for sharing this! Next week, I’m giving away an ice cream maker from Sur La Table and a new ice cream cookbook called Spice Dreams. It has so many unique recipes that include herbs and spices in homemade ice cream. This totally reminds me of it!

  14. May 27, 2010 4:11 am

    You’re making it increasingly harder for me to resist buying an ice cream machine. The only reason that I don’t is because I’m almost certain it would be the downfall of me maintaining a healthy weight, and thus the downfall of certain areas of my body. Is homemade ice cream worth it? Are you able to exercise self control when it comes to your homemade ice cream?

  15. May 27, 2010 5:54 am

    How gorgeous! Wish it were sunny here…I’d be more tempted to make this. Sadly it is raining cats and dogs! Although, does rain really impede ice cream eating? i think not…

  16. May 27, 2010 6:47 am

    beautiful!
    one of my favorite flavor combianations lavender with ricotta :)
    nice recipe

  17. May 27, 2010 4:51 pm

    This looks so nice and smooth!

  18. May 28, 2010 10:02 am

    I think lavender is the most beautiful herb. This is lovely!

  19. May 29, 2010 1:06 pm

    Wow this is very impressive ice cream. I am a lavender lover too but have not done anything like this!

  20. May 31, 2010 2:48 am

    I love ricotta and am always looking for new recipes. I like the lavender added to this.

  21. January 16, 2013 6:00 pm

    “Lavender ricotta ice cream One Ordinary Day” was truly enjoyable and helpful!
    Within the present day world honestly, that is really hard to deliver.
    With thanks, Carmon

Trackbacks

  1. Ice. Cream. « From our front porch
  2. Savvy Housekeeping » Five Things To Do With Lavender
  3. Lavender ice cream recipes
  4. Lavender Ricotta Ice Cream | Ice Creamed

Leave a comment