Skip to content

Curried chicken salad with apples & cranberries

October 5, 2010

Curried Chicken Salad with Apples & Cranberries

Our week is a little crazy.  Claudia’s been home sick, Sam has basketball tryouts, and Jim’s got all the usual stuff.  With my baby girl not wanting to eat much, and the boys on different schedules, I needed something that could be eaten whenever anyone felt hungry.  And I was really in the mood for a good sandwich.  Chicken salad is our favorite in that department, so when I came across this recipe, I headed straight for the kitchen to make some.

I like the addition of apples, cranberries, and walnuts because they are such great Fall flavors; plus, I almost always have them around.  The curry powder adds a nice kick, but it’s balanced out by the fruit and honey.  All those great flavors came together and made for a really great sandwich.

{one year ago:  salted oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chunks}

Recipe:  Curried Chicken Salad with Apples & Cranberries

(adapted from Pinch My Salt)

4 cups cooked and chopped chicken
1/2 an apple, diced
1/3 cup sweetened dried cranberries
1/2 cup chopped, toasted walnuts
1 c. mayonnaise
1 heaping Tbsp. curry powder
1 Tbsp. honey
generous pinch of salt
fresh ground pepper, to taste

Whisk together the mayonnaise, curry powder, honey, salt, and pepper.  In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and stir well.  Serve as a sandwich, on crackers, or on a bed of salad greens.


13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 7:40 pm

    SOunds awesome. Chicken salad is one of my all-time favorites…it can take so many different flavors and ingredients but somehow it always ends up delicious! This looks just right for fall.

  2. October 5, 2010 8:39 pm

    This sounds like it would have a great texture to it, especially with all those mix-ins. What a wonderful way to make chicken salad healthier.

  3. October 5, 2010 8:57 pm

    I’m the only one here who likes chicken salad. I’m going to make this for my lunch this weekend.
    Love the new banner with the ghosts. Very cute.

  4. October 5, 2010 9:59 pm

    YUM!!!

  5. October 6, 2010 11:16 pm

    Hmmm, I’m wondering if my guys would enjoy that? Sounds interesting.
    ~ingrid

  6. October 7, 2010 10:48 am

    Hi Michelle,
    Thanks for the “Welcome back.” I’m trying to catch up with what you’ve been up to.

    I appreciate recipes like this one, especially lately. I seem to be getting busier and busier and am trying to keep my meal preparation to about 20 minutes. This looks like just the thing.

  7. October 7, 2010 4:36 pm

    I love chicken salad…this version sounds really good.

  8. October 8, 2010 1:08 pm

    Sorry to hear your little one sick. This is great go-to meal. Ilove the addition of curry to it.

  9. October 8, 2010 1:10 pm

    Mmm I like the sweetness from the fruit.

  10. ezsrecipes permalink
    October 8, 2010 1:50 pm

    I always enjoy the taste of apples in chicken salad. And I agree that the cranberries and walnuts add a nice little fall flourish to the salad! Sounds awesome! Hope your little girl is better!

  11. October 11, 2010 11:00 am

    My mouth is watering. I love fruit and nuts in chicken salad. Can’t wait to try this!

  12. October 12, 2010 8:13 am

    I love curry in chiciken salad but my mom does not, so I did not find this out until I was an adult. She is so fussy about her chicken salad that if she orders it out and it comes with curry she gets angry with the restaurant saying that they should tell people that there is curry in their chix salad. Yup she is fun to eat out with. NOT!

  13. October 18, 2010 3:13 am

    I keep seeing recipes with curry in Chicken Salad. I think your looks the best I have seen so far and I will have to try it.

Leave a comment