Skip to content

Blueberry frozen yogurt

March 28, 2011

Blueberry Frozen Yogurt

I’m getting kinda desperate for warm weather.  Warm, sunny weather to be exact.  And sitting on the deck in the sun, and opening the windows, and putting my sweaters away once and for all.  But since I can’t control what Mother Nature’s dishing out, I decided to soothe myself with this frozen yogurt instead.  I’m so glad I did because the blueberries are total rock stars, despite the fact that they started out sitting in a bag in my freezer.  This is definitely a taste of summer.  Yum.

Recipe:  Blueberry Frozen Yogurt

(from Simply Recipes; my changes are in italics)

3 c. of fresh blueberries or 1 lb. of frozen

3 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice  (about 1 lemon)

3/4 – 1 c. sugar  (I used 3/4 c.)

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 c. plain yogurt  (I used vanilla Greek yogurt.)

1/2 c. whole milk

Place the blueberries, lemon juice, sugar, salt, and cinnamon in a medium saucepan. Heat on medium heat, stirring, until all of the sugar has dissolved. While the mixture is heating, use a potato masher to mash up the blueberries. When all of the sugar has dissolved, remove from heat and let cool for 10 minutes.  Pour into a food processor and pulse a few times, then pour back into the saucepan.

Fill a large bowl (big enough to hold the pan) with ice water and sit pan inside it.  This will help speed up the chilling process. Stir in the yogurt and milk until completely incorporated. Chill the mixture until completely cold.

Pour the yogurt mixture into your ice cream maker and process according to manufacturer’s instructions.  Serve immediately (it will be soft) or let it firm up in the freezer.

Make about 1 quart.

60 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 8:33 am

    This is one of those things I’d dive into headfirst, and not resurface until I hit the bottom of the container. This looks so good, I love blueberries in anything!

  2. March 28, 2011 8:58 am

    The color is gorgeous!

  3. March 28, 2011 9:35 am

    What an outstanding vibrant colour.
    :-) Mandy

  4. March 28, 2011 10:02 am

    Wow, I really need an ice cream maker because this looks like just the thing to segue my life into spring-mode.

  5. March 28, 2011 5:56 pm

    The color of this blueberry yogurt is stunning! It’s already hot and sunny here so this is perfect.

  6. March 28, 2011 7:57 pm

    This definitely screams summer–that color is to die for.

  7. March 29, 2011 4:22 pm

    Good grief, I’m with you. The weather in my area (NJ) was a tease for a few days, reaching nearly 70 degrees, and then dropping to the 30’s again. This frozen yogurt so makes me ache for warm weather. And look, it’s almost just the thing for keeping a bikini figure.

  8. Evie permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:34 pm

    Looks great!!!! How’d the kids like them? Love you!!! xoxo :)

  9. March 30, 2011 3:11 pm

    I just LOVE the color of this frozen yogurt! What a great way to try to evoke summer!

  10. March 31, 2011 7:11 am

    I love that vibrant colour! I need to learn how to make this without an icecream maker asap!

    Blue Skies
    Charlotte xo

    blueskiesblog.blogspot.com

  11. March 31, 2011 11:13 am

    Ah I’m drooling. I should just start avoiding homemade ice cream, froyo, sorbet, etc. posts cause it tempts me to buy an ice cream machine wayyy too much 8).

  12. April 2, 2011 2:19 am

    like everyone else in the known world, i LOVE the hue of this! it satisfy the palate without weighing a person down with guilt–well done!

  13. April 4, 2011 12:04 am

    This is gorgeous- the color is stunning! I satin my car through a thunderstorm yesterday with snow, sleet and hail mixed in, so I’m definitely with you on the “desperate for warm weather” front. I hear we’re in for weather this week in the 80s though. I’ll take it! This frozen yogurt will be the perfect treat! :)

  14. graciescorner permalink
    April 8, 2011 4:16 am

    looks yummy! yogurt + blueberries = love, love, love!

  15. April 9, 2011 6:06 pm

    Yum! I love the colour. I got a new ice cream maker for christmas I have yet to break in yet.. I should start soon!

  16. November 11, 2011 1:12 pm

    I love this photo! I was wondering if I could use it for a poster and Facebook event image for my school organization. We are having a meeting about internships and calling it “Get the Scoop on Internships” and having free ice cream and stuff, and I think your image is perfect for it. We would of course give you credit in everything.

    My email is bparry08 at gmail dot com.

  17. one ordinary day permalink
    November 11, 2011 1:57 pm

    Bethany – Thanks very much for asking to use my photo for your event. I’m flattered and would be happy for you to use it. You can credit it to “one ordinary day.” Good luck with your internship event!
    ~ Michelle

  18. flowersmeow permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:14 pm

    Hi! Just bumped into your blog while looking up yogurt recipes. Thanks for sharing all this! I would like to use your photo to add to my Food Ideas Pinterest Board. If permission is granted, I will add a link to your blog for recipe.

    Stef

  19. one ordinary day permalink
    February 22, 2012 6:45 am

    Flowersmeow – Thanks for kindly asking, and yes, please do pin away! I’ve had some problems with etsy and a couple other bloggers just taking my pics and using them to sell things or claiming they took the photo themselves…. that’s why the note is on my blog to ask permission first. I love pinterest too, and as long as folks are getting linked correctly, I think it’s a great resource. Happy pinning. :)
    ~ Michelle

  20. Rachel permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:17 pm

    I just made it. Its delicious. Dont have ice cream maker just mixed up and put into freezer. Thanks:). much love from Toronto

  21. May 15, 2012 5:12 pm

    We had fun this weekend picking blueberries with our families and were looking for recipe. Thanks for sharing, I can’t wait to try this with my daughter. I’ve shared your link on our site with Little Hands that Cook with Books and Blueberries. http://theeducatorsspinonit.blogspot.com/2012/05/30-ways-to-eat-blueberries.html

  22. Ellie permalink
    June 26, 2012 7:29 am

    I am SO trying this! Haven’t got an Ice cream maker though, so I’ll just have to improvise a bit.
    :)

  23. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 26, 2012 7:34 am

    Ellie – No worries! I made a chocolate frozen yogurt w/o a machine and it worked great. I can’t see why this wouldn’t too. Here’s the link to that blog post. Good luck! :)
    http://tinyurl.com/253orhs
    ~ Michelle

  24. Hatice permalink
    June 27, 2012 9:39 pm

    it is in the freezer and can not wait to eat ! I added half packet of vanilla sugar “I Love vanilla ” next time I wanna try cheery and strawberry … thank you sooo much this recipe
    stay with love ~~~

  25. kim permalink
    November 29, 2012 7:25 pm

    do you have to do the final step, processing in ice cream maker?

  26. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 5, 2012 6:37 am

    Kim – I have another recipe posted on the blog for making ice cream w/o an ice cream maker. I think it’s possible to do with any kind of ice cream – you just need extra time and you need to put some extra effort into it. Here’s the link to that – https://oneordinaryday.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/chocolate-frozen-yogurt-without-an-ice-cream-machine/
    Hope it helps!
    ~ Michelle

  27. Lin permalink
    February 4, 2013 3:40 pm

    I have some frozen blueberries from last summer that I need to use. Thank you for this recipe!

  28. Wendy permalink
    February 17, 2013 6:43 pm

    Can this be made without an ice cream maker? I live in a very small place, therefore I barely have enough room for the appliances I use. Can’t justify the existence of an ice cream maker but this would be a great summer dessert!

  29. March 11, 2013 5:23 pm

    This looks delicious!!! :-) I don’t have an ice cream maker though – is there anything else I can do/ use? X

  30. April 8, 2013 6:49 pm

    Hi..this looks delicious! Do you think it would work with the same recipe just subbing in other fruit? Or have you tried it?

  31. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 15, 2013 4:11 pm

    Melanie – I haven’t subbed other fruits in the frozen yogurt, but I can’t see any reason not to! Let me know if you try it with something different. :)
    ~ Michelle

  32. Lissa permalink
    June 7, 2013 4:24 pm

    Hi. Looks great. Want to try it. Do you know if you can use 2% milk?

    Thank you

  33. Joelle permalink
    July 29, 2013 2:02 pm

    If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can put it in a container in the freezer and stir it every 20 minutes for 4 hours! :)

  34. November 11, 2015 6:10 pm

    what is c?

  35. Pat permalink
    March 15, 2016 3:32 am

    It looks so easy to make, I’m trying this recipe tomorrow

  36. Vittoria permalink
    February 16, 2017 9:20 pm

    Thanks Joelle! I will totally try this recipe!!!!

  37. Kay Day permalink
    October 29, 2017 11:02 am

    For those of you who do not have an ice cream maker, partially freeze the mixture, break it into chunks and use the food processor again to break it up. Repeat a couple of times and you have almost the same texture as the ice cream. And if you don’t have a food processor, a stick blender works just as well. Almost as good as having used an ice cream maker.

Trackbacks

  1. How to Satisfy that Sweet Tooth…in a Healthy Way! |
  2. A Pinterest Success Story « The PR Belle
  3. Frozen Yogurt « The Beautiful Life of the Traveling Wife
  4. of the moment {3.2.12} | The Daily Crumb
  5. Link Love Friday + Our Editors are Famous | Scarves.net
  6. blueberry frozen yogurt. « peaches & cake
  7. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth | Greatist
  8. whatcha’ got cookin’? | So Every Day
  9. Things to Try Thursday | Kirschplunder's Blog
  10. Celebrate National Frozen Yogurt Day – 06/04
  11. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth - Perfect Your Lifestyle
  12. Fly Spear | 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth
  13. 20 Amazing Blueberry Recipes – CA Grown
  14. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth - Health Boosters
  15. 5 sencillos postres saludables | La Bioguía
  16. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth – EVERYTHING UNDER THE SUN
  17. 15 Healthy Recipes Which Will Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth  - Urbanshowbiz
  18. How To Make Healthy & Satisfying Snacks - The Edge
  19. Suger-Healthy treat tips! | Fleur's tips for Sweet Treats!
  20. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth | Aetrex Footprints Blog
  21. Best 20 Healthy Blueberry Recipes -Salads, Desserts, Pizza & more
  22. Healthier Desserts: 32 Sweeeeeet Recipes with Benefits
  23. 33 Healthier Ways to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth

Leave a comment