Skip to content

Self-frosting Nutella cupcakes

April 30, 2012

Self-Frosting Nutella Cupcakes

Have you heard that there was a class action suit brought against the makers of Nutella for not coming clean with the fact that it really is a chocolatey dessert spread, and not so much a part of your typical nutritious breakfast?  If you’re interested, you can jump on the bandwagon and get your share of the profits that were awarded… $4-$20, depending on how many jars you’ve purchased in the past couple of years.  Personally, I’d rather have my jar of Nutella, so I’ll pass on the cash.

I never deluded myself with the idea that Nutella was good for me.  How could I, when it’s in so many delicious desserts?  You don’t see broccoli showing up in any desserts, right?  So while I agree that the makers of Nutella need to add a little dose of honesty to their advertising, I’ve always found their commercial rather amusing.  I think they’d sell more if they took a new approach and starting showing us how people really enjoy their Nutella.  Like with a spoon, for instance.  Or with these self-frosting cupcakes.

The fact that these cupcakes come out of the oven covered in Nutella goodness is the best part of this recipe.  I wasn’t crazy about the cupcake itself, but I got no complaints from the 7 kids hanging around my house this afternoon.  I like the idea of swirling the Nutella on top, so next time I’ll use a moister cupcake recipe, like this one from Elinor Klivons.  That’s reason enough to keep my jar of Nutella.

Recipe:  Self-Frosting Nutella Cupcakes

(by Babble.com at Shine)

1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup canola or mild vegetable oil
3/4 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4-1/2 cup Nutella, at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325F.  In a medium bowl, beat the butter, oil and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth.

In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt; add to the butter mixture and beat on low speed just until combined.  Divide the batter between 12 paper-lined muffin cups.  Drop a spoonful of Nutella on top of each, and swirl through the batter with the tip of a bamboo skewer or knife.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until springy to the touch.  Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 12 cupcakes.

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 7:15 am

    I’ll keep my Nutella, thank you very much.. And then I can make these amazing cupcakes! And eat them.

  2. May 2, 2012 8:49 am

    I will keep my jar of nutella too- healthy or not it is good stuff. Spread it on a carrot if you want health! I’ll keep my jar of biscoff spread too!

  3. sumshay permalink
    May 8, 2012 9:40 pm

    Definitely still love Nutella. When I am desperately craving something sweet, a spoonful of that is all I need. And don’t even tell my girls who believe that a little Nutella, peanut butter, and marshmallow fluff smeared on a graham cracker is nothing short of awesomeness for a snack. Healthy?-no. Delicious?-yes!

  4. July 20, 2012 5:04 am

    You’ve convinced me to carry a jar of nutella in my school bag at all times :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. jean permalink
    August 28, 2012 12:39 pm

    no doubt…who needs the money when you have Nutella? I am going to try making mini muffins with this recipe. hope it works.

  6. November 29, 2012 12:26 am

    How do you make such beautiful swirls? Mine just kind of lumps up in the middle. :(

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 5, 2012 6:39 am

    sg – I think Nutella is typically really creamy when it’s brand-new and thickens more as it sits in the pantry. I used a sturdy skewer to swirl my Nutella into the top of the cupcake and was really happy with how it turned out. If your Nutella is too thick, perhaps heat it in the microwave for a very little bit to warm it and thin it out? Hope it works!
    ~ Michelle

  8. December 18, 2012 7:15 am

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  9. January 13, 2013 5:44 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  10. Falraee permalink
    January 16, 2013 1:50 am

    Hello, how much batter did you pour into each muffin cup? 1/2 full or 3/4 full?

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 20, 2013 10:55 am

    Falraee – Sorry, it was such a long time ago it’s hard to remember, but I generally fill them about 3/4 full, so that’s likely what I did with the nutella self-frosting cupcakes too.
    ~ Michelle

  12. January 22, 2013 10:05 pm

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your
    intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving
    us something informative to read?

  13. January 22, 2013 10:35 pm

    Excellent items from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff previous to and you are just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve received right here, certainly like what you are
    saying and the best way by which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you continue
    to take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more
    from you. That is actually a tremendous web site.

  14. February 21, 2013 6:22 am

    Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn.
    This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your useful information.
    Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly return. by Gidget see my site Marietta

  15. Aisling permalink
    April 16, 2015 1:27 pm

    I used the batter in the link above the recipe and my cupcakes ended up rising everywhere the nutella wasn’t, which created nutella craters! >.< How much should the nutella be swirled into the batter? And how much nutella do you usually add?

Trackbacks

  1. Mini Nutella Cupcakes « Worthy of Love
  2. I made cupcakes! | The Red Caterpillar
  3. I made Nutella cupcakes… |
  4. Nutella Cupcakes! – A Lovely Spark

Leave a comment