Skip to content

Strawberry shortcake

May 22, 2010

Sky High Strawberry Shortcake

Yesterday was my birthday.  Now the thing about loving to bake and having a birthday is that you sometimes end up making your own birthday cake.  I’m totally okay with that.  If my mom isn’t nearby to make me this cake, then I’ve got no problem choosing something delicious and baking it myself.  And this year, the farmers’ market and I teamed up for one amazing strawberry shortcake.  And I do mean a-ma-zing.

This is, by far, the best strawberry shortcake I’ve ever eaten.  We ate it for dinner!  Truly, cause you can do what you want on your birthday, right?  And really, all the food groups were represented:  fruit = strawberries;  whipped cream = dairy;  protein and grain = King Arthur white whole wheat flour.  You with me?  Booyah!

{one year ago:  apple bread}

Recipe:  Sky-High Strawberry Shortcake

(adapted from Sky High: Irresistible Triple-Layer Cakes by Alisa Huntsman and Peter Wynne)

5 Tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 c. plus 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar, divided

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 1/2 c. cake flour  *(I wanted to use King Arthur white whole wheat flour, so I found this substitution at Joy of Baking:  3/4 c. all-purpose flour + 2 Tbsp. cornstarch = 1 c. cake flour.  Perfection.)

2 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

2/3 c. buttermilk

1 1/2 c. heavy cream

Fresh strawberries; cleaned, hulled, and sliced

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease the bottoms and sides of two 9″ cake pans.  Line the bottom of each with a round of waxed paper or parchment paper and grease again.  Set aside.

In a large mixer bowl, cream the butter, 3/4 c. of the sugar, and the vanilla with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time, scraping bowl after each addition.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Add dry ingredients alternately with buttermilk, in 2 or 3 additions.  Dived batter between cake pans.  Bake cakes for 13-15 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow pans to cool on wire rack for 5 minutes.  Invert cakes onto racks and cool completely.

In a large chilled bowl with chilled beaters, whip the cream with the remaining 2 Tbsp. of sugar.  Place one cake on serving plate.  Top with half of your hulled and sliced berries and half of your whipped cream.  Add second cake and repeat with berries and whipped cream.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 12:37 am

    Happy birthday! If I had you in person I’d sing you the Jamaican version.
    The cake looks beautiful and I’m sure it tastes wonderful.
    That’s the thing about my own birthday–I love birthday cake, but I refuse to buy one for myself. Which means I usually get nothing : (

  2. kateohkatie permalink
    May 22, 2010 1:32 am

    Happy belated birthday!

    I often end up making my own birthday cake, too – if my parents aren’t around on the actual day to do it for me (they live in a different city). My in-laws – bless their hearts – don’t understand why I’d rather make my own cake than have a “proper” storebought one that they’d pick up. :-P

    Bonus – last year my birthday cake was a birthday blueberry crisp! :-D

  3. May 22, 2010 3:04 am

    You said buttermilk cake with strawberries not strawberry shortcake! There’s such a difference! I know you enjoyed that cake because I sure did. It looks fantastic Michelle. Glad you had a great birthday!

  4. grandy permalink
    May 22, 2010 4:37 am

    Wow! It really looks beautiful! Candle and all. Wish I could have been there. You were in such a hurry I didn’t get to tell you your story. :) But then you know it by heart….

  5. May 22, 2010 4:49 am

    Buttermilk cake, shortcake, I don’t care what you call that cake so long as you pass me a slice! :) It looks great and cake for dinner is my fave.

    Happy birthday!
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 22, 2010 5:04 am

    Diana – I’d love to hear the Jamaican happy birthday song! I bet it’s way better than when the kids insert the words “cha cha cha” into it every chance they get! One more thing, friend. You need a birthday cake! I bet there’s a sweet little girl who would happily bake one with you. : )
    ~ Michelle

  7. May 22, 2010 5:23 am

    YUM! This cake looks amazing!! I would eat it all day, too.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 22, 2010 5:39 am

    Kate – : ) It must be us, right? Folks who bake don’t mind baking, especially if we can celebrate with something as great as blueberry crisp and strawberry shortcake!

    Monica – Quit picking on me. Shouldn’t I have residual birthday immunity from getting teased? teehee

    Mom – I love my story and I do know it by heart. Still missed hearing it at 10 though. I love ya!

    Ingrid – I’d have been happy to share with you, friend. : )

    Memoria – Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    ~ Michelle

  9. May 22, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m not picking on you Michelle. It’s just that when I read you were making a buttermilk cake I (for some reason) pictured a bundt cake with sliced strawberries on the side. This is so much more grand than that. That’s all.

  10. May 22, 2010 12:01 pm

    Downright gorgeous! One of the prettiest cakes I’ve ever seen. Happy birthday!

  11. May 23, 2010 7:55 am

    Wow, that really does look amazing!! Hope you’re continuing the celebrations all week with more strawberry treats! :)

  12. May 23, 2010 9:12 pm

    happy belated day of birth, michelle! of all the cakes a gal could choose to use to celebrate her birthday, i think this is a clear winner. sadly, my birthday is over 300 days away. maybe i’ll make it for my next unbirthday, which is tomorrow. :)

Leave a comment