Skip to content

Birthday cake ice cream

June 16, 2010

Birthday Cake Ice Cream

My sweet boy celebrated his birthday today.  11 years old!  I have to laugh when I think about what a scrawny, homely little thing he was when we brought him home from the hospital.  He’s grown into such an awesome kid.  He still kisses and hugs me in front of his friends, he is generous and kind when he goes out into the world, and he has an amazingly goofy sense of humor.  I couldn’t be prouder to be his mama.

We made this birthday cake ice cream this morning and it really does taste like cake!  I’m thinking we’ll try it again another time using a chocolate cake mix instead of yellow.  Doesn’t chocolate cake ice cream sound good?

Recipe:  Birthday Cake Ice Cream

(adapted from serving-ice-cream.com)

1 1/2 cups 2% milk
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup yellow cake mix
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup rainbow sprinkles/jimmies

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine milk, sugar, and cake mix.  Whisk to remove lumps.  Stir constantly until mixture starts to bubble.  Remove from heat and place directly into a water bath or into the refrigerator.  (A water bath is a large bowl filled 1/3-1/2 way with cold water and ice cubes.  The saucepan will fit in easily without any water getting into your mixture.)  Chill completely.

When thoroughly chilled, stir in heavy cream and vanilla.  Pour into ice cream maker and mix according to manufacturer’s directions.  Add sprinkles during the last 5 minutes.  Remove ice cream and transfer to a freezer-safe container.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. grandy permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:02 am

    Looks good! Wish you would have made it when I was there. Our boy turned into a handsome kid…

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:07 am

    He did, didn’t he? And when would I have had time to make us ice cream? Maybe if we had stayed home and shopped less… : ) xo

  3. June 16, 2010 11:33 am

    I always asked for German chocolate cake when it was my birthday … had I known about birthday cake ice cream … !

  4. June 16, 2010 3:09 pm

    This looks amazing! It is the flavor I ordered at all ice cream places, I love that you can make it at home. i have never made ice cream at home, but this heat and this recipe just might push me over the edge!

    I bet the birthday boy loved it!

  5. June 16, 2010 3:13 pm

    Yum this does sound good. And it looks great. Did the kids like it?

  6. June 16, 2010 4:47 pm

    Awww, happy birthday to your sweet son! This ice cream looks fantastic.

  7. June 16, 2010 6:56 pm

    Nice header change- I think that photo is so bright and cheery!

    Happy birthday to your Sam :-) Nothing better than a bowl of ice cream with a candle in it.

  8. June 16, 2010 7:04 pm

    Oh I always wondered how they made cake flavored ice cream. Sooo yummy! Yours looks so good I want to stick a spoon in my computer screen! Happy birthday Sam!

  9. June 16, 2010 7:07 pm

    Happy Birthday to your lil guy. I love how festive this ice cream looks, and even better, it taste like cake-WOW!

  10. June 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:33 pm

    12th Man – My guys always ask for chocolate cake. Period. They always get it, but I threw in the ice cream this time too.

    Krystle – You should try making your own. The kids really loved it!

    Diana – The kids liked it a lot! But what’s not to like… cake and ice cream all rolled into one?

    Memoria – Thanks and I’ll pass on your bday wishes to Sam. : )

    Monica – Thanks for noticing the header. I wasn’t too sure about the change, so I appreciate your opinion. I’ll tell Sam you said “happy bday.”

    Lizzy – : ) Thank you!

    Naomi – It’s a fun (and really easy) recipe and it is definitely festive!

    ~ Michelle

  12. Bea permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:29 am

    Happy Birthday Sam! Readers, I promise I’m not the worst aunt ever, I did spend the weekend with Sam in celebration of his birthday so the fact I’m a day late in my salutation isn’t that bad, right?…Nothing new, I didn’t remember Shell’s until Dani reminded me. Anyway, I love you Sam – enjoy being 11.

  13. June 17, 2010 3:54 am

    Wow–that looks beautiful and so festive. I really love that photo. Would it be too much to serve birthday cake with birthday cake ice cream? Happy bday to Sam (my namesake!)

  14. June 17, 2010 5:30 am

    Oh my gosh, this looks so yummy! I have been wondering if there was a recipe for homeade cake batter ice cream. I can’t wait to try this. Happy Birthday to your son. The time goes so fast. My boy is nine, and like your son still shows me so much love!

  15. June 17, 2010 5:42 am

    i’ll be honest–i think i’d prefer yellow cake to chocolate, and carrot cake to yellow, and spice cake to carrot. yes, spice cake ice cream–definitely worth a try!!

  16. June 17, 2010 7:45 am

    I scream for ice cream, especially one that tastes like cake! It’s the best of both worlds. You keep making it increasingly hard for me to resist buying an ice cream maker.

  17. June 19, 2010 4:10 pm

    I gotta be honest with you Michelle it doesn’t. LOL, I’ve made this recipe several times and I’ve also made a custard version. This is Babygirl’s fave flavor. She prefers the Philadephia style one best.
    ~ingrid

  18. June 21, 2010 11:40 am

    Ooh. I have always loved the cake batter ice cream at Coldstone. I love that you posted this recipe because now I can try to make my own at home! It looks so good!

  19. June 24, 2010 1:50 pm

    I will have to bookmark this one for this summer when the machine comes out! Great idea, thanks! Oh and the fudge pops are going in the file too!

  20. July 16, 2010 9:21 pm

    Oh no! I want this. But scratch! We have nut allergies in the family, so cake mixes are a no no (and I’m a scratch snob, go figure) This looks sooo delicious, and I’ve just ordered a KA ice cream attachment!

  21. July 22, 2010 11:35 pm

    After that last comment, I did a bit of research to find out if there is an option for homemade cake mix. There is! To make this ice cream, I used a cake mix recipe 2 1/2 c flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 1/2 c sugar, 1 tbs +1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 c butter ; combine it, and you can refrigerate it or freeze it until you need it.
    I have absolutely no base for taste comparison, but I made the ice cream using a cup of that mix, and it tasted a lot like cake batter to me! A bit sweet for my taste – but that’s what I get for making cake batter plus ice cream! :D Everyone has loved it, especially my kids!

  22. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 23, 2010 7:20 am

    Jen – Thanks for coming back and sharing your adaption of the ice cream! If it’s okay with you, I’d like to add it to the original post so other people can use it too. Full kudos to you, of course.
    Btw, have I told you that your blog is awesome? I passed it along to my sister and nephew because it’s something he would be crazy about.
    ~ Michelle

  23. Rudy Hart permalink
    March 5, 2012 8:47 am

    Dear Michelle,
    Hm… the ice cream looks yummy.
    I am considering printing picture of ‘Birthday Cake Ice Cream’ on birthday card I’d like to send to my friend.

    -rudy, surfing from Indonesia.

  24. one ordinary day permalink
    March 8, 2012 2:02 pm

    Rudy – Thank you for the kind remark. Please do copy this as a card for your friend!!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a comment