Skip to content

Chocolate mayonnaise cake

June 17, 2010

Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

Both of my kids are pretty predictable when it comes to birthdays.  Every year, I ask what kind of cake they’d like, every year it’s the same answer.  Chocolate.  No fussiness.  No frills.  Just a chocolate cake.  Since their birthdays are so close together, I had to at least try to make two different kinds of chocolate cake, right?  {I knew you guys would agree with me here!}

Well, since Sam didn’t have any requests after the “plain old chocolate cake” and his dad has been mentioning a chocolate mayonnaise cake with increasing frequency, I figured we’d go with that.  I haven’t made one in a long time, but this one in particular is just a doctored up cake mix recipe.  Fast and simple, and you get a moist and chocolatey cake that pleases everyone.

Recipe:  Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

(found at Hellmann’s)

1 box chocolate cake mix

1 cup Hellmann’s mayonnaise

1 cup water

3 eggs

1 tsp. ground cinnamon (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°.  Using baking spray, spray two 9-inch round cake pans; set aside.

Beat cake mix, mayonnaise, water, eggs and cinnamon (if using) for 30 seconds in large bowl with electric mixer on low speed.  Increase speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes, scraping sides occasionally.  Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes on wire rack; remove from pans and cool completely.  Frost with your favorite chocolate frosting or sprinkle with powdered sugar.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Arlene permalink
    June 17, 2010 11:07 am

    Wow, the frosting is what catches my eye. Which one did you use on this cake, it looks fantastic.

  2. June 17, 2010 1:24 pm

    Whoa ho… MAYONNAISE…? OK I’ve got to try this — this weekend, for father’s day…

  3. June 17, 2010 8:58 pm

    Oh I made a chocolate mayo cake recently too….it’s delicious and sooo moist! Happy birthday to your kiddos!

  4. June 18, 2010 12:03 am

    i’m not sure which looks more luscious, the frosting or the cake itself. it’s rare that i’m attracted to both components equally, so you’ve performed quite a feat! :)

  5. June 18, 2010 2:01 am

    These cake looks amazingly moist! Dont worry I was the same as your kids when growing up all I ever wanted was chocolate sheet cake for my birthdays. Eventually you do grow out of it :)

  6. June 18, 2010 3:29 am

    Mayo is the main ingredient in my go-to chocolate cupcakes! I love it! Even though mayo alone makes me gag, it’s awesome in cake! So moist with just a tiny bit of tang! And your frosting looks SO good! That’s one thing I still don’t have down.. a really good chocolate frosting.

  7. June 18, 2010 3:39 am

    Wow! Mayo! That’s definitely something I have to try. Anything to make a chocolate cake moister and tangier is fine with me :) I just want to take a fork and dig in to my computer screen, that photo is so scrumptious!

  8. June 19, 2010 12:06 pm

    I’ve always heard the mayo makes the best cakes…and this certainly supports that argument! It belongs in a magazine !

  9. June 19, 2010 4:04 pm

    Okay, if you’re gonna make something chocolate then by all means add in the cinnamon. I definitely think it improves the flavor but what do I know I don’t like chocolate.

    Btw, that’s a perfect looking slice!

    Happy Birthday, Sam! (belatedly!)
    ~ingrid

  10. June 20, 2010 3:40 am

    Your cake is so gorgeous!! I’ve heard lots of wonderful things about mayo cakes, but haven’t tried making one yet – you’ve inspired me to finally make one now! :-)

  11. June 20, 2010 11:01 am

    I so agree with you on making two different cakes and this one looks like the perfect slice. It that’s lovely frosting on top that has me giddy. and cinnamon? YES!

  12. ezsrecipes permalink
    June 20, 2010 11:22 am

    Gosh you sure have a knack for posting the most delicious-looking desserts! Got any good, basic cupcake recipes? I have never made cupcakes before, if you can believe it, but I really want to…

Leave a comment