Skip to content

Candy tree

December 15, 2010
tags: , ,

The kids and I made this fun Christmas tree to send to my godson, who is serving in the Army and won’t make it home for Christmas this year.  We had fun doing it together, and we hope Jeff will get a kick out of it.

If you have a styrofoam cone, a low-temp. hot glue gun, and some candy, then you have all the trimmings for this edible tree.  To finish off our tree, we glued a star onto a skewer and poked it through the top of the cone.   Ta-da!  A Christmas tree you can eat!

{one year ago:  reindeer cookies}

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 4:06 pm

    Cute idea. I love the new blog header!

  2. December 15, 2010 5:06 pm

    LOVE this Candy Tree!!! I want to make one ASAP and give it away just as you are doing. I am sure your god-son will abosolutely just love receiving this fun gift!

  3. December 15, 2010 8:51 pm

    Alright, that’s it. I insist that you adopt me immediately. You make such cute, fun, festive stuff with your kids!

  4. December 15, 2010 11:19 pm

    What a perfect, thoughtful apt gift! You have such fabulous ideas!
    :-) Mandy

  5. December 16, 2010 2:36 am

    Fun! I’m sure he’ll love it. Who wouldn’t?

  6. December 16, 2010 10:59 am

    Your godson will love that!

    Please pass along our prayers and thoughts for him. I served in the Army for 24 years, and in my day, I thought I did some tough duty and some hard jobs … but what we are asking our kids to do today makes my service look like a picnic.

  7. December 16, 2010 12:01 pm

    LOVE that sweet tree you made for your godson. He will be so happy to receive that I am sure. Here is another idea to share the love that you might like:

    http://www.thetogetherdoll.com/
    XO

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 16, 2010 4:00 pm

    Thanks for the link, Marla. I checked it out and it’s an awesome idea. It’d be so sweet for a little one to have a special doll like that!
    ~ Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 16, 2010 4:03 pm

    HPD – Thank you so much for your thoughts and comments. We are very thankful that Jeff is safely stationed in Germany right now, but there are so many families who have to live with worry every day. I pray for them too. And thank you for serving our country for so long!
    ~ Michelle

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 16, 2010 4:04 pm

    Karly – You’re sweet. : ) Thanks!!
    ~ Michelle

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 16, 2010 4:05 pm

    Avril – We had fun putting the candy tree together. The kids were very particular about what went where and how it should look. I hope it gets to Germany in one piece!
    ~ Michelle

  12. December 16, 2010 11:49 pm

    This is so fun. I can’t see how your godson wouldn’t love it. Merry Christmas, Michelle!

  13. December 16, 2010 11:56 pm

    Very cute! I am sure he will love it and be the most popular guy in his unit. I’ll have to remember this one!

  14. December 17, 2010 12:37 pm

    Cute! I love how you said Ta-DA! :)
    ~ingrid

  15. December 17, 2010 6:29 pm

    I would love to devour this tower – but I don’t think my waist line would like it :P

  16. December 18, 2010 2:26 pm

    This is genius and seems easy enough…too late this year but next year our Halloween candy is going onto a tree!! :)

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:24 pm

    A Little Yum – This would be a great idea for using all that leftover Halloween candy. Great idea for next year! :)
    ~ Michelle

  18. grandy permalink
    December 30, 2010 9:03 am

    Loved Jeff’s tree.

  19. Christine permalink
    August 26, 2012 7:02 pm

    instead of using a hot glue gun, use straight pins to attach the candy to the trees.

Trackbacks

  1. Cum să împachetezi dulciurile – daruri de Crăciun | Master Class

Leave a comment