Skip to content

Chocolate guinness cake

February 17, 2011

Chocolate Guinness Cake

I can tell St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner because when I popped into McDonald’s for that addicting sweet tea, I noticed my all-time Mickey D’s favorite, the shamrock shake, has returned.  Though I haven’t treated myself to that just yet, you can bet I’ll consume a few before they disappear from the menu for another year.  And while I’m not even the tiniest bit Irish, it seems like a good time to try a Guinness recipe, doesn’t it?

I picked up my first Guinness beer while shopping with my sister and my mom last weekend.  See, if you live in PA, you can’t just grab a 6-pack while you’re grocery shopping.  You have to stop at a beer distributor for a whole case, and I definitely didn’t need a case of Guinness to try a few recipes.  My sisters are so close to NY state that they do much of their grocery shopping there, and lo and behold, to my surprise, you can buy a 6-pack while you’re filling your cart at the local superstore.  I was a little giddy, because I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for ages, so I grabbed some Guinness right quick and off we went.

Most of this cake disappeared before the day was even over.  When you’ve got kids and those kids have friends, chocolate cake doesn’t stick around very long.  My only issue with it was that the middle sank and the edges seemed overbaked.  Definitely didn’t look like Nigella’s did, but it tasted good anyway.  Of course, when you’ve got that big pile of yummy cream cheese frosting on top, just about anything would taste good, don’t ya think?

{two years ago:  cauliflower cashew salad}

Recipe:  Chocolate Guinness Cake

(from Feast by Nigella Lawson, found at the kitchn)

For the cake:
1 cup Guinness stout
10 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa
2 cups superfine sugar  (Nigella says you can also use regular granulated sugar instead.)
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp. sour cream
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

For the topping:
1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup heavy cream

For the cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9-inch springform pan and line with parchment paper. In a large saucepan, combine Guinness and butter. Place over medium-low heat until butter melts, then remove from heat. Add cocoa and superfine sugar, and whisk to blend.

In a small bowl, combine sour cream, eggs and vanilla; mix well. Add to Guinness mixture. Add flour and baking soda, and whisk again until smooth. Pour into buttered pan, and bake until risen and firm, 45 minutes to one hour. Place pan on a wire rack and cool completely in pan.

For the topping: Using a food processor or by hand, mix confectioners’ sugar to break up lumps. Add cream cheese and blend until smooth. Add heavy cream, and mix until smooth and spreadable.

Remove cake from pan and place on a platter or cake stand. Ice top of cake only, so that it resembles a frothy pint of Guinness.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 8:58 am

    That looks amazingly delicious. I think that you’ve introduced me to Greg’s birthday cake in a couple of weeks. Thanks!

  2. February 17, 2011 9:03 am

    You had this (part) Irish girl at Guinness.

  3. February 17, 2011 9:17 am

    Mmmm! PA liquor laws are pretty weird. I live in Delaware and while we can’t buy alcohol in regular stores, at least we can buy everything at one liquor store (in any quantity). I hear PA is going to change their alcohol laws soon. Who knows?

  4. February 17, 2011 10:50 am

    This cake is like crack to me. A former coworker of mine used to bring this cake in (from the same recipe!) and I could probably have eaten about half of it if I was left on my own! I still crave it even though she hasn’t worked there in more than a year. I’m going to have to just make it for myself! But I don’t think it’s one I’ll be sharing with anyone else. :)

  5. February 17, 2011 11:57 am

    It sure looks incredibly good and rich and you’re right… why complain when a cake looks as good as this!

  6. February 17, 2011 2:29 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try chocolate guinness cake ever since I first saw it! Yours looks super moist and delicious…and really perfect with the cream cheese frosting!

  7. February 17, 2011 6:34 pm

    Looks delish – I’ve only made chocolate Guinness cake once before and it was quite tasty!

  8. February 17, 2011 11:38 pm

    I think my husband will fall in love with me all over again when I present him with this. Now to find the time to bake it.
    :-) Mandy

  9. February 17, 2011 11:41 pm

    Actually one of the first things I looked at was the sunken center. I’m not saying that to be mean, but because mine did the exact same thing when I made it a couple years ago.

    Still quite yummy though!

  10. February 18, 2011 1:35 am

    Oh man! You can just see how rich this cake must be! Looks amazing!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 18, 2011 8:33 am

    Monica – I was annoyed by the sunken center because that typically indicates that a cake is underbaked. That’s why I left it in the full hour instead of taking it out at 45 minutes. Still sunken, but then the edges were too baked. It was still quite good though, but I would have liked for it to look more like Nigella’s. : )
    ~ Michelle

  12. February 18, 2011 11:18 am

    Oh my…I love, love, love any baking that involves Guinness. My husband and I were engaged in Ireland and got to go to the Guinness Factory which was soo cool to tour. I am for sure making this, it sounds so yummy! …also, I am really excited to know that the Shamrock Shakes are back…woohoo!

  13. February 18, 2011 3:03 pm

    Mmmmm…I can just taste this now! I can’t wait to try this cake for St. Patricks day…it looks sooo moist and delicious! :)

  14. February 18, 2011 7:55 pm

    That’s a fine looking cake. I think I remember coming across this recipe once before and then forgetting about it…thanks for the reminder! It’s back on the list.

  15. February 20, 2011 1:45 am

    Oh why must you tempt me so, Michelle. This looks amazing, especially with that pile of frosting on top. I’ve never heard of the Shamrock Shake but will have to go to McD’s (which I never do otherwise) just to check it out ;). I’ve got a cupcake in the works, too for St. Pattys day.

  16. February 20, 2011 3:09 pm

    Oh man oh man – this cake looks like what dreams are made of. It is making my mouth water right now. Seriously delicious!

  17. February 20, 2011 5:30 pm

    shamrock shake!!
    what a dense and decadent cake, and the fluffy frosting fits it perfectly!

  18. February 21, 2011 2:49 pm

    I love this recipe, especially if you make it as cupcakes!

  19. March 3, 2011 3:19 pm

    oh. my. god. this looks amazing! can you taste a hint of the guinness in there or does it get lost in all that chocolately goodness?

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 4, 2011 4:15 pm

    Accidental – Nope. No sign or taste of beer in the cake, thank goodness, cause I am not a fan. It was a really rich chocolaty flavor. Hope you like it!
    ~ Michelle

  21. March 13, 2011 6:56 pm

    yum!! Definitely perfect for St. Patty’s day!

  22. March 16, 2011 5:33 pm

    Has anyone tried this at high altitude? I live at 6000 ft. I have another recipe but it didn’t turn out well. It was too dense and the center sunk. I’m not an expert at adapting recipes for the altitude yet.

  23. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 17, 2011 6:03 pm

    Sorry, Danika. I don’t know much about baking at high altitudes. I can tell you that the cake sunk a little in the center for me anyway. I figured that just left me more room for frosting. : )
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate guinness cake « One Ordinary Day | Beer For Beer Drinkers

Leave a Reply

