Skip to content

Oatmeal graham cookies

June 19, 2011

Oatmeal Graham Cookies

I love oatmeal cookies, but until now my go-to recipe was a pouch of Betty Crocker mix from the grocery store shelf.  I’m not ashamed of it either, cause they’re pretty tasty.  But move over, Betty, cause there’s a new cookie in town.  These are hands-down the best oatmeal cookies I’ve ever had.  My family agrees, and I now have a real go-to recipe.  Woot!

Recipe:  Oatmeal Graham Cookies

(original recipe from At the Baker’s Bench)

8 ounces (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs  (one sleeve of graham crackers)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment or coat lightly with butter or cooking spray.

Beat butter, sugars, and vanilla extract together in a large bowl until creamy. Add eggs one at a time and continue beating, scraping down sides of bowl. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Add to butter mixture and beat until incorporated. Stir in oats and graham cracker crumbs.

Roll dough into walnut-sized balls and place on cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Flatten cookies very slightly with your fingertips.  Bake for about 10 minutes, until cookies are golden. Allow to cool for a minute or two on sheets, then transfer with a to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. michael permalink
    June 19, 2011 12:03 pm

    Tomorrow’s baking project. Thanks!

  2. June 20, 2011 10:07 am

    They sound good, but what I’m wondering is if I can make them into a bar? :)
    ~ingrid

  3. June 20, 2011 12:23 pm

    Wow these look good! I have some extra graham crackers- adding this to my list of things to try!

  4. June 20, 2011 1:01 pm

    Ooooh! Graham cracker crumbs sound like a perfect addition… I’ve been in an oatmeal cookie mood (I just made some with banana and chocolate chips), and I love graham crackers! Awesome idea.

  5. June 20, 2011 4:19 pm

    om nom nom nom my favorite cookie!

  6. Eleni permalink
    June 20, 2011 9:07 pm

    These cookies definitely turned my little girl into the cookie monster! But it’s ok cause they’re oatmeal…right? haha I had a few myself with a glass of milk. Best oatmeal cookies I’ve ever had!

  7. June 20, 2011 9:20 pm

    Ooh these need chocolate and marshmallows stuffed in between them.

    The way you feel oatmeal cookies and is how I feel about brownies. I’m still trying to find a recipe I like.

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:19 pm

    Monica – Yeppers. We made ice cream sandwiches out of them first thing. : ) Turns out that the cookie is just too good to be bothered with ice cream though!
    ~ Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:20 pm

    Eleni – So funny! I totally agree with you. Any reason to have cookies for breakfast works for me! I’m glad you liked them!!
    ~ Michelle

  10. June 22, 2011 10:54 am

    i love graham crackers in any application, particularly in crusts. i’ve never had them incorporated into cookie batter before–great idea! eat it, betty! :)

  11. June 22, 2011 4:23 pm

    My husband LOVES otameal cookies, so I’ll have to give these a try next time he’s having a craving. If they’ve become your go-to, I’m sure he’d be thrilled with them. Thanks for sharing!

  12. June 23, 2011 7:28 am

    Ooo what a creative combination! I absolutely adore graham crackers and oatmeal cookies.

  13. October 4, 2011 1:58 am

    I will make these and I will eat them.
    Then I will make some more and find a way to add malt.

    Then I will eat those too.

  14. one ordinary day permalink
    October 5, 2011 1:33 pm

    Sumguy – Definitely make them! And thanks for stopping by and commenting.
    ~ Michelle

  15. Cristie permalink
    August 13, 2017 8:29 pm

    My daughter Siobhan and I made this delicious recipe. I give it 5 stars. Thank you for this recipe.

  16. Susan Hess permalink
    December 22, 2021 9:50 am

    I need 2 and a 1/2 sleeves to make 1 and 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs. What am i doing wrong? I use nabisco honey grahams

  17. Susan Hess permalink
    December 22, 2021 10:13 am

    Ignore that, i doubled the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Lumber Yard Visit: RRAW Roughcut Lumber/Davison HQS - Florida News
  2. Lumber Yard Visit: RRAW Roughcut Lumber/Davison HQS – Weaving

Leave a comment