Skip to content

Chocolate and ginger scones

June 9, 2010

Chocolate and Ginger Scones

Holy heck, have I been busy!  The end of the kids’ school year is here, which means there are lots of things going on at school.  I’m a pretty active volunteer and I’ve been spending most of my days there doing one thing or another.  Needless to say, my baking is really suffering!

Should I thank Jim and Sam for asking for baked goods to take to school?  Hmm.  I don’t know about that, but these scones were born from that request, so I guess it wasn’t all bad.  Also on my baking list were lavender scones and my mom’s amazing fudge.  I think I made up for my baking lull in one fell swoop.

I bought some crystallized ginger a couple weeks ago with this recipe in mind, actually.  I’ve never had ginger like this before and I really enjoyed these scones.  The semi-sweet chocolate pairs perfectly with the ginger bits.  They’re a delicious combination.

{one year ago:  two of my favorite summer recipes ~ honey limeade and cucumber fruit salad}

Recipe:  Chocolate and Ginger Scones

(found at Living Tastefully)

2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/3 c. granulated sugar

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. grated lemon peel

11 Tbsp. unsalted butter, chilled and cut into pieces

3/4 c. + 1 Tbsp. heavy whipping cream

1/2 c. finely diced crystallized ginger

1/2 c. mini semisweet chocolate chips

2 Tbsp. heavy whipping cream, for brushing on top of scones before baking them

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Blend flour, sugar, baking powder, and lemon peel in a food processor.  Add butter and pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Transfer mixture to a large bowl.  Make a well in the center; add the 3/4 c. cream.  Using a fork, stir until just moist.  If the dough seems dry, add the additional 1 Tbsp. of cream.

Mix in the crystallized ginger and chocolate chips.  Gather the dough together and gently knead until smooth, about 8 turns.  Divide the dough in half; pat each portion into a 3/4″ thick round.  Cut each round into 6 wedges and transfer to baking sheet.  Brush tops with remaining cream.

Bake scones until light brown, 15-18 minutes.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 11:00 am

    mmm, Chocolate and ginger together is one great combination. For being one busy person you are doing a great job with keeping up with blogging!!

  2. Evie permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:56 pm

    I agree with Robin Sue, Aunt Shell. With keeping up with the school year AND S and C, you’re doing good! Those scones look sooo good! Do I get to try some?! WOW!!!!!

  3. June 9, 2010 2:16 pm

    What a great idea to combine the health and inflammation prevention qualities of ginger (which I talk about on my site) with the mood uplifting qualities of chocolate in a delicious scone! Wish I could cook and bake like some of you.

  4. Bea permalink
    June 10, 2010 1:50 am

    I hope you saved some for us!

  5. June 10, 2010 4:32 am

    Wow, these sound great. Chocolate and ginger, can’t go wrong!

  6. June 10, 2010 6:38 am

    I boy I know the feeling! Hang in there. :)

    Btw, for my babygirl’s b-day cake I made your strawberry & cream cake. We really enjoyed it!
    ~ingrid

  7. June 10, 2010 7:29 am

    what a sophisticated little scone. methinks crystallized ginger is a good investment. :)

  8. grandy permalink
    June 11, 2010 12:56 am

    You better have something tasty when i get there :) The scone looks real good!

  9. June 13, 2010 7:37 pm

    Not generally a fan of ginger but these look perfect. Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  10. June 14, 2010 2:22 pm

    I am a HUGE fan of ginger. Yum!

  11. June 15, 2010 11:51 am

    Holy moly! This is my favorite of all your creations. ILOVE CHOC and GINGER pair the two and I’m your slave. Ah, wish we were neighbors! A side note, I eat crystalize ginger as a snack.

  12. Dani Lawton permalink
    June 16, 2010 8:32 am

    They were extremely tasty!!!

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:15 am

    Robin Sue – Thanks for the nice comment!

    Evie – You’re sweet, lovey. Sorry the scones weren’t what you expected. Maybe candied ginger is a grown-up thing. xo

    Pursuenatural – LOL Chocolate definitely lifts up my mood, and the ginger was a good pairing. Thanks for your thoughts.

    Bea – Yes, they’ll be here. I froze a whole batch just for the wknd.

    Hungry Dog – I completely agree!

    Ingrid – Things will slow down a little now that school’s over. I’m glad you guys liked the cake! What’d McKenna think?

    Grace – I’d have to agree. : )

    Grandy – Scones will be plentiful, I promise.

    Monica – This really was a good combination. And yes, we had a wonderful weekend. Thanks!

    Try it… – Well, the votes are in and only the adults were fans of this scone. The kids were willing to try until they came across a bite of ginger. : )

    Naomi – I wouldn’t mind being your neighbor either. Your creations are awesome!!

    Dani – Thanks. xo

    ~ Michelle

Leave a comment