Skip to content

Butterscotch cake pops

April 27, 2011

Butterscotch Cake Pops

Are you ready for some butterscotch?  hehe  It just doesn’t come off in writing the way I said it in my head.  Think World Wrestling Federation, or whatever they call it these days.  Now, let’s try it again, shall we?

ARE YOU READY FOR SOME BUTTERSCOTCH?

Alrighty then.  Let’s get to it.  The first recipe I’m sharing from our family’s annual Throwdown is my own.  I thought I had it in the bag with butterscotch cake pops.  Pretty presentation, cake pop tastiness, and they’re on a stick.  Meets the needs of the kid crowd and the adults too.  Unfortunately for me, I didn’t get very many votes.  Hardly any, to tell you the truth, though I know for a fact that my sweet Claudia voted for me.  She loved these, but she’s got a serious sweet tooth.

I started with a boxed cake mix and a canned frosting, and I think the frosting was my downfall.  That canned stuff is already so sweet, and by the time I was finished these were really sweet.  The hurting-your-teeth kind.

I’m okay with not bringing the trophy home with me, because I didn’t even vote for myself!  Can’t wait to share the other recipes!

{one year ago:  cheeseburger macaroni}
{two years ago:  strawberry oreo truffles}

Recipe:  Butterscotch Cake Pops

(inspired by Bakerella)

1 box of butter yellow cake mix

1 c. butterscotch morsels, divided

1 can cream cheese frosting

white candy melts

Wax paper covered cookie sheet

lollipop sticks

Mix cake as directed on box.  Melt 1/2 c. butterscotch morsels and mix into cake mix.  Bake cake as directed to make a 13×9″ cake.  Let cool completely.  Crumble cake into food processor and quickly turn it into crumbs with a few pulses.

Move cake crumbs to large bowl and add 1 can of frosting and 1/2 c. melted butterscotch morsels.  Using the back of a big spoon or spatula, thoroughly combine the frosting and crumbs.

Roll mixture into small balls, about 1″.  Place balls on waxed paper and chill in freezer or fridge until firm.  You should get about 45 cake balls.

Melt candy coating in the microwave following package directions.  Remove the cake balls from the freezer and insert a lollipop stick just about half way into the cake ball – it might help to dip the tip of the lollipop stick into the candy first. Dip the cake pop into the candy coating and gently tap to remove any excess.  Place in styrofoam block to dry or place upside down into mini cupcake liners.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianna permalink
    April 27, 2011 8:32 pm

    I’ve been looking for just the right way to present cake pops and yours are so elegant. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. April 28, 2011 1:00 am

    Well I think your butterscotch cake pops are lovely – sure I would have given you my vote. ;-) Looking forward to the other recipes.
    :-) Mandy

  3. April 28, 2011 2:41 am

    i so excited by the idea of a butterscotch contest–the more butterscotch, the better! this is a tasty treat, and so cute. :)

  4. April 28, 2011 9:20 am

    I love the idea of butterscotch cake pops…I’m sure these were amazing! I’m excited to see what the other competitors made too!

  5. April 29, 2011 1:49 pm

    Hurting your teeth sweet! That is a great description of super sweet. They look so pretty, but I find cake pops sweet too. Haven’t had Starbucks versions yet…have you? These throwdowns sound like so much fun!

  6. Evie permalink
    April 30, 2011 9:23 am

    Haha I was there when you took that picture! :) Love ya.

  7. April 30, 2011 5:59 pm

    This looks yummy but I definitely know what you mean about cake pops being so sweet. I made them for the 1st time recently and did everything from scratch to keep the level of sugar as low as possible!

  8. May 4, 2011 8:41 pm

    Wrestling??? Isn’t it “Are you ready for some football?” and “Get ready to rumble” ha ha!

    You didn’t even vote for yourself? You’re so funny. They do sound terribly sweet but they’re pretty.

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 7, 2011 7:51 am

    LOL, Monica! I have no clue. Clearly, I don’t watch sports unless my kids are involved. : ) Is it football??
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Butterscotch Cake Pops (Recipe from Scratch) | Cake Pops and Cup Cakes
  2. Cake Pop Recipes... for any day of the year
  3. 25 Delicious Butterscotch Recipes
  4. Cake Pop Recipes... for any day of the year - Mom vs the Boys

Leave a comment